top of page

My Research Students

I have been fortunate over the past 50 years to have been the mentor/supervisor of a brilliant galaxy of research students during their PhD research. They have been a wonderful stimulus, and I have gained much from my interactions with them,  as I hope they have from me. 

Here is a list of these former students with date of PhD (Cambridge unless otherwise stated) and a note of their current position, where this is known to me, as at October 2014.

Jacques Nihoul (PhD 1965),  Emeritus Professor, Université de Liège, Belgium.


Juri Toomre (PhD 1967),  Professor, Dept. of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences, Univ. of Boulder, CO, USA. 


Andrew Soward FRS (PhD 1969), Emeritus Professor, University of Exeter, UK.


Alfred Sneyd (PhD 1969), Emeritus Professor, University of Waikato, New Zealand.


Glyn Roberts (PhD 1970),  retired and resident in USA.


Richard Dillon (PhD 1974), Project Manager, Monash University, Australia.


Michael Proctor FRS (PhD 1975), Professor of Astrophysical Fluid Dynamics at Cambridge and  Provost of King’s College, Cambridge.


Tom Hynes (PhD 1978), Reader in Turbomachinery Group, Whittle Laboratory, Cambridge.


Alison Hooper (PhD Bristol 1980), Principal Lecturer in Mathematics, and Head of the Mathematical Sciences Department, 

University of the West of England, Bristol.


Hamid Kamkar (PhD Bristol 1980) 


Edward Lungu (PhD Bristol 1980), Professor of Mathematics, University of Botswana, Gaborone, Botswana.


Clifford Hancock (PhD Bristol 1980)


John Chapman (PhD Bristol 1980), Professor in the School of Computing and Applied Mathematics, Keele University, Staffordshire, UK.


Peter Watterson (PhD 1985), Associate Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology, University of Technology, Sydney, and Principal Research Scientist, CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering, Australia.


Susan Nightingale (MSc 1987) [d. August 2000]


Konrad Bajer (PhD 1989), Associate Professor, Institute of Geophysics,  University of Warsaw, Poland. [d. 29 August 2014]


Andrew Gilbert (PhD 1988), Professor of Mathematical Physics, University of Exeter, UK.


Renzo Ricca (PhD 1993), Professor of Mathematical Physics, and Lagrange Senior Fellow, Università di Milano-Bicocca, Italy.


Dionysis Linardatos (PhD 1993), Chief  Technology Officer,  Sycada,  the Netherlands.


Atta Chui (PhD 1994), Quant Strategist, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, London.


Thomas Felici (PhD 1991), Independent Computer Software Professional, Oxford, UK.


Pierre Carlotti (PhD 2001), Directeur, Laboratoire Central de la Préfecture de Police, Paris


Paul Dellar (PhD 2002), University Lecturer and Fellow of Corpus Christi College, Oxford, UK.


Vincent Mac (MSc 1997), Lecturer in Marketing, Judge Business School, University of Cambridge.


Chris Hills (PhD 1999), Head of the School of Mathematical Sciences,  Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland.


Michal Branicki (PhD 2005), Lecturer in the School of Mathematics, Edinburgh University.

bottom of page